Palette – It all started with an imaginary, memory detective

palette

Long ago, long before the reign of dreaming Nikki, there was an old legend – one that gave birth to a new genre. A man called Nishida Yoshitaka stood up and yelled: “Screw turn- based battles! They are such a boring and annoying part in RPGs, compared to exploring and interacting with the overworld!” He then worked for seventy months and five hours and his hands shaped a creation – “Hello, amnesia Madotsuki!”–, also known as B.D. , the starring character in a game called “Palette”. The guy also made the game. Yes.

While it is unlikely that he actually said those words, the man showed a great example regarding how you can set a new horizons by striving away from the usual meta formulas. To a certain extend, I do also prefer overworld interactions more than the turn based battles – This dates way back to my childhood where I would play RPGs and be annoyed by the repetitive fights after a while. In addition to that – The various prolonged boss battles that tend to punish you via silly RNG elements or just because you forgot to stock on a certain item, failed to use a specific ability and so on and so on! However, there are still games where the developers managed to balance things up and put together even elements like that in a way the player would find enjoyable. That’s why I’m not completely discarding games with turn- based battles. Isn’t this the case for pretty much every genre as a whole?

Years ago, when I stumbled upon “Palette” for the first time, I remember not having any actual fun with the game. That wasn’t because there was anything wrong with the game itself, but mostly because I didn’t have the patience to let it show me its unique value. I blame the pressure from university and the succubus who taught me how to fly a kite! Anyways, I played “Palette” briefly, but even though I dropped it, I promised myself that I would one day come back to it and figure things out properly.

So here I am now with properly figured- out things! “Palette” is a game about a girl named B.D. who tries to retrieve her lost memories. As a whole, this sums up the whole game, but there are still additional details that enhance  the experience a bit further. Paying attention to the whole plot development can be a bit hard, but it’s a must if you wish to fully enjoy the game. The actual gameplay revolves around exploration and interacting with objects, which might sound like nothing new under the whale’s teeth, BUT…

…there is the additional aspect of restriction. You are limited at first when it comes to how much you can make B.D. explore and where to go. Rather than going all willy-nilly over the place, you actually need a bit of careful planning. When you run out of energy, the game resets back to your initial starting position, which as a whole, helps a lot when it comes to backtracking – a common aspect in the game! Of course, as one can expect, the more you progress in the game, the more your maximum energy level will increase. You’ll manage to travel further and uncover more places and objects and WIN THE GAME EVENTUALLY! Doesn’t that sound special and exciting?!?! I am acting like a total asshole, but that won’t change the fact that this game is pretty good and the author really managed to shape it up real nice. You have an energy level meter in the game.

Palette DONE!

I personally enjoyed the graphics and visuals in the game. RPGDenter87 is an old engine, but I am even older, thus, totally impressed by everything done with it! There is also the PS1 version, but that’s gonna be for another post, sometime in the future, where I’ll probably forget the fact that I once managed to eat a whole bottle of mustard on my own. Such is the cruel reality of the aging process.

I think “Palette” is a solid 8.8 out of 10 material. Please give me good feedback on my IGN profile so I can get money and release my “Frogger 2: Swampy’s Revenge” nude mode! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

